About Us

Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway is a non-profit organization with a mission to preserve, protect, promote and enhance the outstanding resources of the 72-mile A1A corridor through NE Florida's coastal counties of Flagler and St. Johns. The organization is composed of volunteer citizens who collaborate with municipalities, government agencies and other civic groups to improve facilities, amenities and promote interpretive stories about the area's intrinsic resources including nature, culture, recreation, archaeology, scenery, and history.

The U.S. Department of Transportation designated the A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Highway as a National Scenic Byway in 2002. The 72-mile corridor covers both St. Johns and Flagler counties, spanning from the Volusia/Flagler County Line to the St. Johns/Duval County Line on the east coast of Florida. The Byway is one of 150 National Scenic Byways in the country and one of 26 scenic highways in the state of Florida. The A1A Scenic and Historic Coastal Byway emerged from three Florida Scenic Highways originating in the late nineties: A1A Ocean Shore (Flagler County -south), A1A River to Sea Trail (Flagler County -north), and Scenic and Historic A1A (St. Johns County).

To join Friends of A1A at the single level $35; family level $50; or business level $100, please download and return the Membership Application and mail a check or Sign up and pay online.
We appreciate your support!


Regular meetings are OPEN TO THE PUBLIC 

Should any member of the public need handicapped access information, please contact Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway at 904-425-8055.
AD HOC Committee meetings occur throughout the year.
Postings are listed on the website calendar.
Generally, the Executive Committee meets during the month prior to the scheduled Board Meeting.


FRIENDS OF A1A  - National Scenic Byway

MONTHLY meetings on the last Wednesday of the month at 2:00 p.m., unless otherwise noticed.
Marge Rooyakkers - President

Meeting locations:

Hammock Community Center -  79 Mala Compra Road, Palm Coast, FL 32137
St. Augustine Beach City Hall - 2200 A1A South, St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080

2021 Meeting Schedule

JANUARY 27, 2021 -

1 pm - Executive Committee Meeting

2 pm Board of Directors Meeting - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL 

FEBRUARY 24, 2021 - 2 pm - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL - Annual Meeting 

MARCH 31, 2021 - 2 pm - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL - Cancelled 

APRIL 28, 2021 -

1 pm - A1A Regional Trails Committee Meeting - Hammock Community Center

2 pm - Board of Directors Meeting - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL 

MAY 26, 2021 - 2 pm - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL 

JUNE 30, 2021 - 2 pm - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL 

JULY 2021 - No Meeting 

AUGUST 25, 2021 - 2 pm - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL  - 2021 Work Plan Workshop 1

SEPTEMBER 29, 2021 - 2 pm - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL  - 2021 Work Plan Workshop 2 

OCTOBER 27, 2021 - 2 pm - Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL  - 2021 Work Plan Workshop 3 - Final Review & Approval

NOVEMBER 17, 2021* - 2 pm -  Hammock Community Center, Palm Coast, FL 

DECEMBER 10, 2021* - 2-5 pm - Friends of A1A Board of Directors Holiday Gathering 



Meetings usually occur the last Wednesday every month. *Indicates special meeting date. 


Friends of A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway
Board of Directors:
Executive Committee:
President: Marge Rooyakkers (Flagler/Hammock PRIDE)
Vice President: Adam Morley (St. Johns/Crescent Beach)
Secretary: Anne Streater (Flagler At Large)
Treasurer: Bob Samuels (St. Johns/St. Augustine Beach)
Bill McClure: (St. Johns At Large), Immediate Past President
Flagler Beach Mayor Suzie Johnston: (Flagler Beach/Ocean Shore)
Town of Marineland Mayor Craig Lenniger: (Marineland)
Flagler Beach City Commissioner Eric Cooley: (Flagler Beach/Ocean Shore), Alternate
Pat Guido: (St. Johns At Large/Crescent Beach)
Paul Haydt: (Flagler Beach/Ocean Shore)
Gail Wadsworth: (Flagler At Large)
Mark H. Smith: (St. Johns At Large)
Nate McLaughlin: (Flagler At Large)
Regan Hansen: (Flagler At Large)  
Ex Officio: 
St. Johns County Commissioner Henry Dean
Flagler County Commissioner Greg Hansen  
Danielle Anderson: Byway Program Administrator
Sid Ansbacher: A1A Board Counsel
Sallie O'Hara: A1A Byway Consultant
V Christiansen: Greenways Trail Alliance, Florida Coordinator
Florida Department of Transportation Representatives:
Florida Scenic Highway Coordinator District 2: Debrah Miller, Ian Pawn
Florida Scenic Highway Coordinator District 5: Claudia Calzaretta
FDOT District 2,5 Consulting Team:
Michael Palozzi (Atkins Global Consulting)
Karen Ford (Atkins Global Consulting)

Other Committees include:

A1A Regional Trails Committee (Haydt - Chair, O'Hara)
A1A Scenic Byway Mobi Tour (McClure, Anderson TravelStorys App)
Fundraising - other events (Smith, Anderson, Rooyakkers, Samuels, Guido)
Environmental Education Fair/Kids Ocean Day (Samuels, Rooyakkers) May 7, 2021
International Coastal Cleanup  (Morley, Provencher) September 18, 2021
Spoonbills & Sprockets - (Anderson, McClure) November 4-6, 2021
Super Scenic Garage Sale (Samuels, Anderson) November 20, 2021
Community Outreach (Morley, Johnston, Guido)
Economic Development (McClure, Guido)
Facility Improvement Committees (McClure)
Transportation/Safety Committee (Haydt, Smith, McClure)
VISIT FLORIDA project committees  BOD
Adopt-a-Highway, Beach, Trail Committee (Morley, Samuels)
Membership (Wadsworth, Provencher)
Volunteer Orientation (Anderson)
Board Development, Recruitment (Anderson)
Advertising (Anderson, Rooyakkers)
Website (Anderson, Fusco)

Friends of A1A promotes projects and programs along the A1A Scenic & Historic Coastal Byway communities related to history, cultural activities, recreation, education, safety, tourism and economic development. 



"A copy of the official registration and financial information may be obtained from The Division of Consumer Services by calling toll-free within the state. Registration does not imply endorsement, approval or recommendation by the state." 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352).

Friends of A1A Subcommittees:
A1A St. Johns Corridor Management Council (CMC) 

A1A River and Sea Preserve PRIDE - monthly meetings on the fourth Friday of the month at 9:00 a.m., unless otherwise noticed.  Dennis Clark - Chair

Meeting location: 100 Malacompra Road - Community Center


A1A Ocean Shore - Meeting dates as publicly noticed.

Contact Oceanshore President Linda Provencher (386) 439-8815 for information.

Meeting location: Flagler Beach City Hall, 105 2nd St. Flagler Beach - City Hall Chamber